Seeking Wisdom

by scottydoozle

ImageIt is interesting to read Proverbs and see the importance that God puts on wisdom. Yes, it is, in fact, wisdom literature. However, wisdom literature could be any number of things. It could be a note from your mom telling you to look both ways when crossing the street. God puts a huge emphasis, at least early on, in the value of seeking and following after wisdom.

In chapters 8-9 God actually personifies wisdom as a woman. I think this is a strategic move but also a practical one. I believe God makes wisdom speak as a woman because it will make us remember more clearly. When God personifies wisdom as a person the importance of seeking wisdom sticks with us because it is spoken to us rather than in just another list. Also, I think that she is a woman to impress upon the men of the culture the importance and value women should have in their culture. I wonder if the wisdom that God speaks about in Proverbs is wisdom in the conventional sense or would it also be referring to seeking out knowledge as well. If that is the case then we would, in fact, be wise to be life long learners.

Proverbs 8:34-35 says, “Blessed is the one who listens to me [Wisdom], watching daily at the gates, waiting beside my doors. For whoever finds me finds life and obtains favor from the Lord, but he who fails to find me injures himself; all who hate me love death” (ESV). That is strong language when speaking about wisdom. Those who hate wisdom hates death? That is pretty crazy. I love how God is saying the ones who seek after wisdom will find life. If you take this into a redemption ┬ácontext then you will realize the legitimacy of it.

If a person takes all of their presuppositions and world view and throws them out the window and they just strive for wisdom then I believe they will eventually find God through that search. They will find Christ and through him they will find life.

